Chi Running

It was only a matter of time before I devoted a post to chi running. I was first intrigued by it because it builds on the barefoot running style by endorsing a better form. This would inherently reduce injury and increase efficiency. I just couldn’t quite grasp the entire idea of it yet, so I put it off. I shall take a stab at it now.

When you Google “chi running” the first thing that pops up is www.chirunning.com. The problem with this website is that it tries to tell you too much all at once. There is SO MUCH text to digest and so many tabs to navigate; I needed some more quick and straightforward information. My wishes came true when an active.com article came out earlier this week describing the five basic elements of chi running:

  • Run tall
  • Lean forward
  • Land on the Mid-foot
  • Run from Your Core
  • Relax, Relax, Relax

Read about the 5 elements [here].

I found it odd that there are certified chi running instructors, classes, training programs, etc offered. They say that this is a natural form of running, but there sure are a lot of learning they say you have to do. I’m not against it, I just find it peculiar.

Another interesting thing I noticed is that they have this whole line of Chi products to promote chi in your running. For example: Correct Toes. “Correct Toes are podiastrist-designed to place each toe in the correct anatomical position in relationship to each other and to the ground. The width can be customized with the use of shims in the first and fourth interspaces.”

There’s also a Chi Running book written by the co-founder of Chi Running; and this is what they claim:

Chi Running combines the inner focus and flow of T’ai Chi with  running to create a ground-breaking running technique that takes the pain and potential injury out of the sport of running. Increase mental focus and clarity.

Lastly, but certainly not least, are the shoes the co-founder recommends for chi running. MINIMALIST BABY!

  • Adidas Adizero Rocket
  • Brooks Mach II Spikeless
  • INOV-8 Talon 212 or Rocklite 295
  • Mizuno Wave Ronin 2
  • New Balance MT100
  • Newton Isaacs
  • Nike Free 3.0
  • Puma Cabana Racer II
  • Vibram Five Fingers KSO or Trek
  • VivoBarefoot EVO

What can I say? I’m a running shoe GEEK. No shame here! So I might as well try this out on one of my runs sometime; I’ve already got one of the five basic concepts down pat anyway! Please stay tuned for an update!

Leave a Reply

