New Wine Wednesdays

A little more than a month ago I started, what I like to call, New Wine Wednesdays. I decided that when choosing wines in restaurants I always went with what was comfortable; and this usually meant the cheapest Cabernet Sauvignon on the list. I realized that maybe it was time to venture outside of my comfort zone and try new things. After all, if you never change, you’ll never learn.

So, (almost) every Wednesday I try a new wine. Why Wednesdays, you ask? Well for the alliteration, of course! I’m just so lucky that I can also drink a glass to get through hump day as well.

In the past month or so I have yet to purchase a “cab” or even a pinot noir; and I’ve developed some new loves as well. Oh and we’re talking reds here because, 1) one glass of red wine is actually heart healthy (Google resveratrol), and 2) whites can be too sweet or tart for me to drink weekly. Those new loves that I’ve tried include: Malbecs, Tempranillos, and Chiantis.

Tonight’s choice?

A modern Spanish blend of Tempranillo and Cabernet by Tempra Tantrum. They specialize in blending “international varietals with the quintessential Tempranillo grape…” This was the first blend I’ve tried since starting this weekly ritual and it ain’t too shabby.

I may sound like a wino right now, but I’m allowed to for just one day a week.

Posted via WordPress for iOS.

Leave a Reply

