Let’s Do This!

Greetings friends, family, and readers (whoever you are)!

As many of you know, I recently started a new job at the Primary Care Coalition of Montgomery County (PCC).  And you probably know I do something health related or something Komen related or something with related to the low-income and uninsured population, but you probably don’t know what it is exactly that I do.  I’m hoping to now clear up that vagueness with this post.

What is PCC?

The Primary Care Coalition is a private, non-profit, charitable organization working with public/private partners to provide high-quality, accessible, equitable, efficient, and outcome-driven health care services for low-income, uninsured County residents.

What do I do?

In September of 2010, I joined PCC’s Center for Health Improvement as the Komen Regional Project Coordinator. I am specifically working on the National Capital Area Breast Healthcare Improvement Initiative; and in short, I am working with safety-net clinics in Montgomery County, Prince George’s County, DC, and Northern Virginia to streamline breast healthcare services for low-income and/or uninsured women 40 and over. The “Komen” part of my title comes from the fact that Susan G. Komen for the Cure funded this entire program.

This morning I attended a news conference for the kick-off of the 22nd annual Susan G. Komen Global Race for the Cure and met Nancy Brinker, the founder and CEO of Susan G. Komen for the Cure. I was pretty moved and motivated by the event, so I elected myself to be PCC’s team captain for the 2011 Global Race for the Cure.  Why not combine my love for running with my passion for what I do?

You can visit my personal page here: http://globalrace.info-komen.org/goto/PearMoraras

For PCC’s team page, click here: http://globalrace.info-komen.org/goto/PCC

Let’s do this!

2011 TeamRaiser widgets
Leave a Reply

