Arlington is for Dogs

I’ve written multiple posts on things to do in the DC Metropolitan area from where to go running and biking to where to go eat.  I realized that one other thing I could write about is where to take your dog!  Many of you know by now that I adopted my first dog a little over a year ago.  Since then I have been able to explore our area for places to take him to.  My exploration has taught me one thing: Arlington is for dogs.

Where to go/Things to do:

Shirlington Dog Park – During the warmer seasons, this park is PACKED.  When it’s hottest, the dogs love to go swimming in the little river that runs along the park.  This place is great for both humans and canine.  They even have a gated area inside the park for small dogs and puppies only.  Even though it’s just across the street from Shirlington Village, it’s a little hidden — if you didn’t know how to get there, you might not find it!

Directions: Coming from 395S, take the Shirlington exit to Shirlington Road. Make the second left onto 4 Mile Run Drive and then the first left onto Nelson Street where there will be parallel parking available.  Also available is a small lot behind the U-Haul building. View Larger Map

This whole area is just dog friendly, and new places just keep poppin’ up.  See below:

Lastly, the picture below is what inspired me to write this post.  I was walking Pip and found that they have new poopie bags!  New degradable poopie bags!  Now not only is Arlington dog/owner friendly, it is environmentally friendly, too! GEEZ.

Leave a Reply

