Black Coffee

For over 20 years, I never considered myself a coffee drinker; I often chastised my sister for being addicted to it.  She’s one of the people who’d get headaches from caffeine withdrawal after going 24 hours without it.  When I started working full-time, I limited myself to 1 cup per week to practice discipline and refrain from become addicted myself.  That was when I worked close to home and had flexible hours.  Now I have an hour long commute (at least) everyday and an 8-hour workday with meetings that usually last between 2 and 3 hours.  I knew I wouldn’t be able to survive without caffeine and knowing that I would have to drink it 4-5 days a week, I had to make some changes.

The first thing I did was remove sugar.  I was easing myself into becoming a black coffee drinker because first and foremost, I needed the caffeine, not the sugar.  Plus, most creamers had some sugar in them already.  After about 2 weeks of coffee with cream, I was ready to transition to taking it black.  It actually wasn’t that bad and I actually enjoy it.  I now can tell when a coffee is good or bad.

Here are some health benefits of drinking black coffee [Source: http://hubpages.com/hub/coffeehealthbenefits]

  • Great source of antioxidants
  • Promotes digestion – coffee is a diuretic
  • Increases athletic endurance – very similar function to caffeinated GU gels

The key here is to understand the difference between drinking a Venti Caramel Latte from Starbucks and a cup of black coffee.  Simply one’s good for you, and the other isn’t.  I never thought I could be a black coffee drinker one day, let alone a coffee drinker, but now I am.  In fact, I recommend it.

Leave a Reply

