Dash for Dad 10k

Long time no race (or post for that matter)!  I went over two months without participating in a road race, but I am now back with a vengeance!  As a part of my training for the Army Ten Miler in October, I signed up for the Dash for Dad 10k to get my 6 miles in.  “Dash for Dad” is a series of races held in 14 cities across the United States intended to raise awareness for prostate cancer.  The series was at its 10th stop in Alexandria, VA this morning which was great timing as President Obama recently declared September as Prostate Cancer Awareness Month.  My dad’s oldest brother is a survivor of prostate cancer and this is largely in thanks to having had detected it early.  So I encourage all to push your dads to get regular screenings!

A couple facts from CDC:

  • Prostate cancer is the most common form of cancer among men.
  • 6 or 7 out of every 100 men who are 60 years old today will get prostate cancer by the age of 70.

I’d also like to give a brief update on my experiences with barefoot running.  I’ve now officially transitioned from regular running shoes to the flat racing Sauconys and finally to the Vibram Bikilas.  Today was the first time I completed a race in the Vibrams and it felt great.  Not only did I feel great finishing, but I also PR’d my 10k time.  I was 7th in my age group (Women 20-24) and 57th among women overall.  My final time was about 2 minutes faster in the Bikilas than when I ran the Capital Hill Classic 10k back in May in running shoes.  So hopefully this means I’ll be on track to running the 10 miler as a minimalist runner.

Leave a Reply

