Thai Coconut Curry Mussels

I’ve been writing a lot about running lately, so much so that I’ve neglected my other love: food. So here I am dedicating a post to a recent new fooding conquest — mussels! I’ve written before how my favorite place to get a yummy pot of moules in DC is Bistro du Coin, but did I ever imagine I’d make them myself? Not really. Not at all actually. That is until very recently.

I decided to pick a recipe with ingredients that were most familiar to me: Thai. Coconut milk? Kaffir lime leaves? Lemongrass stalks? Thai chilis? Check, check, check, and check! Many would probably look at this recipe and think it so foreign and difficult, but I saw it and knew that I could do it.

So did it, I did. Here are the fruits of my labor, before and after! I didn’t have my SLR with me, so sadly these are just iPhone pictures. Next time I will be ready! And yes, there will be a next time.

Thai Coconut Curry Mussels

2lbs of Mussels: Enough for 4, consumed by 2.

If the after photo isn’t already telling of how delicious this dish turned out, let me just tell you. It was amazing. The recipe can be found [here] by Simply Recipes. You should be able to find almost all the ingredients at your local H-Mart/Lotte/El Grande. The only thing that might be hardest to find are the Kaffir lime leaves, which is probably why they are listed as optional. They are pretty essential to Thai cooking, so my family actually owns a large plant. If you know me, I’d be more than happy to give you some!

The recipe also suggests that the mussels are best served with some beer and crusty bread. However, I’d also add that it goes quite well a glass of white wine. My cheap glass of pinot grigio from Trader Joe’s matched perfectly with the creamy broth… I’d take it over beer any day!

Happy cooking! And as always, happy porking.

2 responses to “Thai Coconut Curry Mussels

  1. now you can use that white wine to make more delicious mussels; this time with garlic and butter (lots of it) and maybe some herbage (some thyme and maybe saffron? (ooohh yeehhhhhh))

  2. i may have to take you up on that offer for the lime leaves. this looks wonderful!

Leave a Reply

