flaxseed

I have fallen in love with golden flax seeds.  Do I sound like a health-nut or what?  But really, it is foremost not because this super seed is SO GOOD for your body, but because I love the flavor and texture that it adds to… everything!  It has this subtle nuttiness to it, I could eat salads without dressing if there’s flaxseed in it.  It’s always exciting to find something that’s both healthy and delicious at the same time.

My favorite foods to add flax seeds to are: scrambled egg (whites), salads, sandwiches, chili, and stuffed pitas with hummus.

Some yummy facts:

  • Whole flaxseeds are heat stable, so when baked, or heated in other ways, they’ll still be just as nutritious. Source [http://bit.ly/9OXkaf]
  • Rich in Omega-3 Fatty Acids
  • High fiber content – keeps you feeling satisfied faster and longer
  • High in phytochemicals and antioxidants (balances female hormones and slows down prostate cancer growth)

More INFO — [About.com], [WHFoods]

3 responses to “flaxseed

  1. they look kinda waxy.. where do they come from?

  2. I love them too! I have tried to grow my own but the critters always beat me to it!

Leave a Reply

