Kojo Nnaaaamdi

This has been my absolute most favorite thing to listen on the radio these past few months: NPR’s The Kojo Nnamdi Show – Local Restaurant Worldtour Series.  Listen to the podcasts or read the transcripts below!

It is a new series that was started this past October and covers the culinary traditions in our region (DC Metro Area).  It airs at noon every two weeks.  I love listening to these segments because it feels so relevant and is so effective in getting listeners to go out and try something new.  After hearing the first segment on local Korean cuisine, I ate at my favorite soon doo boo restaurant that same night and scarfed down the ever-so comforting spicy hotpot of tofu soup.  Soon after, the French cuisine segment then brought back memories of my visit to Paris and I was inspired to write my “Paris Je t’aime” post.  THEN just last week I listened to talk about Eden and the wonderful cuisine of Vietnam.  Can you guess what I did in response?  I immediately sent an urgent text to PV demanding to eat Vietnamese food that night and I got exactly what my tummy wanted: a plate of bánh xèo and a steaming bowl of bún bò huế.

Lighthouse Tofu (Vit Guel Tofu) – Yelp

4121 Chatelain Road
Suite 100

Annandale, VA 22003 (703) 333-3436

Hai Duong – Yelp

6795 Wilson Blvd
Falls Church, VA 22044 (703) 538-8882

Food is happiness.

Leave a Reply

