Cilantro? Yes, please!

I’ve just read this WSJ article on cilantro; and in retaliation to those “I Hate Cilantro” facebook groups and blog writers (what? there’s actually an IHateCilantro.com?), I’m dedicating this post to my LOVE for cilantro. I would not be Thai if I did not like it; we seriously use it to garnish/flavor 90% of our dishes. Even in non-Thai dishes, cilantro definitely enhances the flavor of say.. guacamole, salsa, tacos, burritos (Chipotle rice), deli sandwiches, pastas, banh mi (Viet subs), et cetera!

Really, I could eat it by itself or just soak in that wonderful lemony smell and be happy. Many can attest to this love (especially my Penne Rosa chef).

So screw you cilantro haters, I’m never cooking for you!

Here are a few great recipes with my favorite herb:

Chicken Tequila Fettuccine
– CD Kitchen
Guacamole – Alton Brown
Mango Salsa
– Recipezaar
Cilantro-Lime Rice – AllRecipes
Cilantro Tomato Corn Salad – AllRecipes
Amy’s Cilantro Cream Sauce – AllRecipes
Vietnamese Caramel Shrimp (Tom Rim) – closetcooking.blogspot.com
Tom Yum Goong Soup – Thai Table

Leave a Reply

