nos·tal·gia

– noun
a wistful desire to return in thought or in fact to a former time in one’s life, to one’s home or homeland, or to one’s family and friends; a sentimental yearning for the happiness of a former place or time: a nostalgia for his college days.

During my 3rd year at UVA, one of those rarely beautiful and beautifully rare winter mornings brushed over C’ville, and drove one of my professors to ever so graciously cancel class. I then made a decision (that was mostly whimsical and likely irrational) to go snowboarding at Wintergreen by myself. I ended up meeting a skier probably in his 40’s who told me that his college years were the best in his life and how working in the real world “really sucked.” He then advised me to stay in college for as long as possible. It was pretty depressing, actually, but I hope I don’t turn out viewing my life like he does.

I admit, though, that I already miss my home of four years. I mostly miss the breezy walks to classes in the Fall, waking up bundled in three blankets in the Winter, noticing the trees blossoming with flowers outside my window in the Spring, making omelettes for breakfast on the weekends, and staying in my PJs all day watching football on Sundays. Those are some of the very reasons I was far from being the typical “alcoholic Fourth Year” who parties their way out; I got that itch scratched early on. I was able to appreciate all the other things that made my independent life as a college student both meaningful and memorable.

Now to do the same with the rest of my life.

Leave a Reply

