Comfortable Silence

Not a word passes between us, not because we have nothing to say, but because we don’t have to say anything…

Khaled Hosseini [The Kite Runner]

I’m beginning to really believe that the moment two people can sustain a comfortable silence that the relationship has truly reached a deeper level and becomes that much more meaningful. I’ve always felt this way with my family when this happens at dinner, on road trips, or just driving 20 minutes away. The need or urgent desire to speak in order to break a silence is never felt and it really isn’t because we have nothing to say. I think it has been my mission to develop this type of a connection with other people.

I can now say that I have.

I’m awkward, but not with everyone!

Leave a Reply

